Abortion and Nebraska: What the Law Says
Most of the women who are reading this right now are probably living in Nebraska. That is where most of Assure Women’s Center’s offices are located. Since we deal primarily with unplanned pregnancies and provide options information, we thought it might be helpful to let you know what Nebraska law says about abortion.
State law directs that women must receive counseling on the facts of abortion and then wait 24 hours before the procedure can be provided.
In order for a minor (under the age of 19) to receive an abortion in Nebraska, they must have the consent of a parent.
Abortion is illegal in Nebraska if the fetus is over 20 weeks post-fertilization (or 22 weeks after the woman’s last period.) They can only be carried out after this stage if the woman’s life is endangered or if her physical health is severely compromised. The rationale for this ruling was testimony that the fetus can feel pain at this point.
Assure Women’s Center provides free pregnancy tests and ultrasounds, along with information on pregnancy options for those in the Omaha community who need it. We also provide the next step for each women with valuable referrals for further assistance.
We have two offices in Omaha and one in Council Bluffs waiting to help you. Please call 402-397-0600 to set up an appointment. If you think you might be pregnant, Assure is your Best First Step!